Back to Help

Understanding Campaign Message Options (WA API & WA Personal)

When saving a campaign message, you will see two options:

  • Apply to All (Old and New Enrolled Contacts)

  • Apply to New Enrolled Contacts Only

These options decide who will receive your message, especially when you create or update a campaign.


There Are 2 Situations

When saving a campaign message, it depends on what you are doing:

  1. Creating a New Message

  2. Updating an Existing Message


1. New Message

This is when you are creating a message for the first time.

Apply to All

  • The message will be scheduled for all current contacts

  • Everyone will receive the message

Example:

  • You have 100 contacts
    πŸ‘‰ All 100 contacts will receive the message


Apply to New

  • Only new contacts added after this will receive the message

  • Existing contacts will not receive anything

Example:

  • You create the message today

  • After saving, 100 new contacts was enrolled

πŸ‘‰ Only the 100 new contacts will receive the message


2. Update Existing Message

This is when you edit a message that was already created.

Apply to All

  • Contacts who have not received the message:
    β†’ Will receive the updated content and updated timing

  • Contacts who already received the message:
    β†’ Will not receive it again

Example:

  • 100 contacts

  • 60 already received the message

  • 40 have not received

πŸ‘‰ The 40 contacts will receive the updated message
πŸ‘‰ The 60 contacts will not receive it again


Apply to New

  • Existing contacts:
    β†’ Will not receive the updated message, even if they haven’t received it

  • New contacts:
    β†’ Will receive the updated content and updated timing

Example:

  • 100 existing contacts (none received yet)
    πŸ‘‰ They will not receive the message

  • New contacts added after update
    πŸ‘‰ Only new contacts will receive the message


Key Takeaways

  • Apply to All β†’ Includes existing contacts

  • Apply to New β†’ Only affects future contacts